Fancier Wild Rice

Made this lovely meal for us last night.

20130523-220425.jpg
Super easy and full of flavor. Started with making wild rice per the package instructions. Once the rice was simmering, I began sautéing two small shallots with a tablespoon of olive oil. Meanwhile, Trey liberally peppered my piece of chicken before throwing ours both on the grill. I am a pepper fiend. I enjoy a pepper crust and a lot of heat. Plain chicken just doesn’t do it for me. Anyway, about 25 minutes after starting the rice the water had cooked out and my shallots were carmelized. I just mixed them into the rice, salted to taste, and dinner was served!

It makes me feel productive when I make our meal for the evening but I am realizing I took my mom for granted. Working all day and coming home to work some more in the kitchen is hard business.

I just need to remind myself that there is happiness in providing for my family…and that there is no shame in a little takeout once in awhile 🙂

Leave a Reply

