Crash Weekend in NOLA

The ebb and flow of my job definitely was on the higher end the last two weeks. That always happens after I peace out early on a Friday and take a weekend trip πŸ™‚ Two weekends ago, it was New Orleans. I loved this city!

Image

We stayed on Canal Street which was centrally located and had blessedly cool air conditioning…a must, I found out, to survive the southern LA heat! I got off the plane Friday evening and cabbed to the hotel, met up with the husband and got right out there!

Image

Street after street of wrought iron and what they call “elegant decay”. It was alluring with a sense of danger, like you never know what lurks behind the exterior. We ate at Paul Prudhomme’s K Paul’s restaurant with two other couples. We were informed that Chef Paul invented the blackening technique, which is basically cooking food in an extra hot cast iron skillet until slightly charred. I had the blackened drum with honey butter and it was absolutely amazing. The only downside: we had eaten cornbread, jalapeno rolls, salads, frog legs, and fried green tomatoes prior to entree arrival and I was positively STUFFED!

After a good night’s rest, Trey and I hit the streets Saturday morning, determined to sample Cafe du Monde beignets. Well, everyone else had that same plan so we ended up grabbing breakfast at a local restaurant then explored the French Quarter.

Β Β Β Β Β Β  New ImageAs in Charleston, you occasionally have to duck in and out of the rain so we spent time in the daily covered market. Our companions sampled smoothies and other treats but Trey and I were too full! After strolling around, checking out the salsa store (hundreds of choices all ready to pile on a tortilla chip and sample!), and wearing ourselves out, we headed back to the hotel to rest up for a big night out.

After a blissful nap, the four of us headed out to dinner at a restaurant call Cochon. IT. WAS. AWESOME! I started with the gumbo, nibbled on some macaroni and cheese and fried alligator with chili garlic aioli that Trey and I split for a side, and devoured my main dish of braised beef shoulder. Best meal in New Orleans. Sorry no pictures! Couldn’t wait that long πŸ™‚

Stuffed to the gills, we skipped dessert and headed back to Bourbon Street for some drinks and live music.

SpookyTrey and Spencer were all about hand grenades…yes, those are capris but Spencer is European so it makes it ok πŸ™‚

Hand GrenadesI preferred to people watch πŸ™‚

Bourbon StreetAnd at the end of the night, I finally got my Cafe du Monde beignets. Open 24 hours, you would think this place would be somewhat low key around midnight. Nope. It was packed with people. That didn’t stop up from having great service and amazing food.

BeignetsCan you tell I’m happy?

Cafe du Monde

Sunday morning we woke up at a decent hour to head to the House of Blues for their Gospel Brunch.

New Orleans Trey House of Blues NO

Copious amounts of bacon and biscuits and gravy were consumed. Crispy bacon is my weakness and these biscuits were the best I’ve EVER had. I’ll have to figure out how to make them at home. Bottomless mimosas were offered and we took full advantage. You could even get to go cups of them! The fact that you can drink alcohol in non-glass containers on the street blew my mind!

After fueling up our bodies and souls, Trey and I dashed to meet our trolley tour. We spent the afternoon exploring the Lower 9th Ward, absolutely devastated by Katrina, visiting a cemetery, and perusing the mansions in the Garden District, all from the comfort of a historical, air conditioned trolley πŸ™‚

New Orleans cemetaryI loved all of the history and lore that is part of New Orleans. I loved the food. I loved wandering around the beautiful streets and people watching. We will definitely be back!

One thought on “Crash Weekend in NOLA

  1. Pingback: Girls Weekend in Kansas City | Run to Eat, Live to Travel

Leave a Reply

